Are you or someone you know facing driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) charges? These charges are nerve-wracking and result in serious consequences, such as significant fines starting at $1,000, bench probation and fees, alcohol or drug evaluations and classes, higher insurance premiums, a one-year driver’s license suspension and jail time. You need a DUI attorney like Robert L. Sepp to fight for you.
Located in West Linn, Robert L. Sepp, Attorney at Law is proud to represent clients in the Portland metro area, Willamette Valley, Oregon Coast, Bend, Medford, Eugene and throughout the entire state of Oregon. Attorney Sepp represents clients who have been charged with DUII and need a tenacious lawyer to defend them against drunk driving charges. He is an experienced and aggressive DUI lawyer. He has successfully protected the rights of many of his clients and has had their DUII charges dismissed. If you’ve been charged with drunk driving, it’s very important that you find a DUI attorney who has the experience and skills to guide you through this difficult time. To learn whether your case qualifies for a free initial consultation, give his office a call at 503-388-5382 or fill out the convenient online form.
Experienced DUI Attorney
Penalties in Oregon for a drunk driving charge include large fines, probation, mandatory jail time and/or a mandatory prison sentence. Penalties vary depending on whether the crime is charged as a misdemeanor or felony and whether this is a first, second or subsequent offense. To find out more about the specific circumstances that can lead to drunk driving charges, contact attorney Sepp today.
The DUII Case Process
If you’ve been charged with drunk driving in Oregon, you probably have many questions on what happens next. First and foremost, you will want to protect your rights going forward with aggressive legal representation by speaking with an experienced DUI attorney.
Few people are aware that, if you are arrested for a DUII, there are two ways that your license can be suspended. One is as a result of a criminal conviction and the other is from the Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services (DMV). To avoid a DMV 90-day suspension, you need to request a hearing date. Typically, this has to be done within 10 days of your failed blood alcohol content (BAC) reading.
If you are arrested and blow a BAC in excess of .08%, the DMV will suspend your license for 90 days. This is important if you are diversion eligible. If you enter diversion and successfully complete it, you will not have your license suspended by the court. However, that does not protect you from the DMV’s 90-day suspension – that is, unless you request and prevail at your DMV hearing.
Attorney Sepp is aggressive in defending the rights of his clients when it comes to DUII charges. He will work with field experts, doctors and witnesses to construct an aggressive legal strategy to make sure that you have the best possible defense. DUII cases in Oregon can be complex and demand a full knowledge of the legal process. An experienced DUI attorney can guide you through this extensive legal process, giving you the best chance at a successful defense.
Drunk Driving Charges Frequently Asked Questions
Is being charged with DUII in Oregon considered a felony?
Will my Oregon driver’s license be suspended?
I’ve heard that I might be offered diversion. What does that entail?
- An assessment to determine if you have a drinking or drug-related substance abuse issue; this will often involve completing a substance abuse course typically lasting 12 weeks or longer
- Complete a Victims Impact Panel, which is a one-class session
- Paying fees and court costs; diversion involves the defendant paying all fees associated with the treatment classes, impact panel, court fees, evaluator fees and assessments. Typically, payment plans are available.
- No charges of any alcohol- or drug-related traffic crime for a period of one year
Failure to complete the diversion program results in an automatic conviction.